CITY OF CHILLICOTHE COUNCIL CHAMBERS MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING JULY 9, 2012

The City Council of the City of Chillicothe, Peoria County, Illinois, met in Regular Session July 9, 2012. Mayor Childers called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

The Pledge of Allegiance, to the Flag of the United States of America was recited.

Chairman Childers directed the Clerk to call Roll.

Present:	Mayor Troy Childers, Sr. City Clerk Sharon A. Crabel City Treasurer B.L. Bredeman
	Aldermen: Alex Block, Chris Boyer, Danny Colwell, Dennis Gould, Michael Hughes, Sandi Levell,
Also Present:	City Attorney Michael Seghetti City Engineer Ken Coulter Office Manager Denise Passage Police Chief Scott Mettille Superintendent of Public Works Josh Cooper ED Director Rachael Parker Fire Chief John Myers
Absent:	Alderman Melvin Witte

Chairman Childers declared a Quorum present.

The Minutes of the Regular Council Meeting, held on June 25, 2012, were presented.

Motion Alderman Block, second Alderman Gould, that the Council dispense with the reading of the Minutes of the June 25, 2012, Council Meeting, and to approve the Minutes, as presented. Motion carried via voce vote.

Clerk Crabel presented the City Reports as follows:

<u>Report</u>	Dated
City Engineer	July 9, 2012
City Collector	Month Ending June 30, 2012
Zoning Officer	Second Quarter 2012

Motion Alderman Gould, second Alderman Block, that the communications, as presented by the Clerk, be accepted and placed on file. Motion carried via voce vote.

Chairman Childers announced that he would be out of Town from July 9, 2012, until July 21, 2012, and that in his absence, Alderman Gould would be serving as Mayor Pro Tem.

Chairmen of the Council Committees gave brief activity reports.

Trish Connor, Maria Geiger and Jerry Donnelly of the Shademakers/Beautification Committee, appeared before the Council to announce the winners of the 19th Annual "Catch the Beauty" Contest.

The winners of the contest were Calvary Baptist Church for Commercial property, Larry and Brenda Stewart for Residential property, and Holly Boyer for Special Feature property.

Marie Geiger presented the winners with framed pictures of their property.

Chairman Childers thanked the Shademakers/Beautification Committee, and the winners of the "Catch the Beauty" Contest, for their efforts in beautifying the City.

Motion Alderman Boyer, second Alderman Gould, that the bills, as presented, be paid and the payrolls and transfers be approved. Roll Call vote was:

Ayes:	Block, Boyer, Colwell, Gould,
	Hughes, Levell

Nays: None

Chairman declared motion carried.

Chairman Childers appointed Gary L. Sharp to the Office of Fourth Ward Alderman, to fill the vacancy of Fourth Ward Alderman Cantwell.

Motion Alderman Block, second Alderman Levell, that the Council concur with the Mayoral appointment of Gary L. Sharp to the Office of Fourth Ward Alderman. Roll Call vote was:

Ayes:Block, Boyer, Colwell, Gould,
Hughes, Levell

Nays: None

Chairman declared motion carried.

Clerk Crabel administered the Oath of Office to Gary L. Sharp, as Fourth Ward Alderman, for a nine month unexpired Term.

Motion Alderman Gould, second Alderman Block, that the Council allow Alderman Sharp to take his seat at the Council table at 7:15 P.M. Motion carried via voce vote.

Motion Alderman Gould, second Alderman Block, that the Council concur with the Revised Council Committee Appointments, as presented. Motion carried via voce vote.

Motion Alderman Boyer, second Alderman Block, that the Council authorize the City Engineer to advertise for bids for the cracksealing and patching of various streets in the TIF Districts. Motion carried via voce vote.

Motion Alderman Boyer, second Alderman Levell, that the Council approve the Notice for Special Event Held on Public Property, as submitted by the Chillicothe Chamber of Commerce, requesting the use of Fire Station No. 1, for "Cornfest" to

be held on July 28, 2012, from 6:00 A.M. until 7:00 P.M. Motion carried via voce vote.

Motion Alderman Boyer, second Alderman Colwell, that the Council approve the requests, submitted by Craig Fetzer, American Legion Post #9 Commander, to have live entertainment in the American Legion's Outdoor Pavilion, on Saturday, August 25, 2012, and Saturday, September 1, 2012, and to extend the playing of amplified music on Saturday, from 11:00 P.M. until 12:00 Midnight. Motion carried via voce vote.

Alderman Boyer withdrew Agenda Item 4) Payment – Chillicothe Chamber of Commerce, Agenda Item 5) Approval – Park Shelter, and Agenda Item 6) ITIA Membership.

Motion Alderman Gould, second Alderman Colwell, that the Council approve the following Applications for the Sidewalk Program:

1. Andy Ruhland	1124 Hushaw	Engbrecht	\$ 800.00
2. Abbey Henderson	434 Placher Ct	Yarger	\$ 881.00
3. Trina Rodriquez	1426 Second	Yarger	\$1,000.00
4. Don Schielein	914 Evergreen	Yarger	\$ 885.60
5. Thomas Foster	1404 Pine	Yarger	\$1,000.00
Total Sidewalk Program	1		\$4,567.20
Balance	\$11,625.40		
Approved	\$ 4,567.20		
Balance	\$ 7,058.20		

Payable from the Road & Bridge Fund.

Roll Call vote was:

Ayes:

Block, Boyer, Colwell, Gould,
Hughes, Levell, Sharp

Nays: None

Chairman declared motion carried.

Motion Alderman Hughes, second Alderman Block, that in the absence of Alderman Witte, Alderman Levell be allowed to present Alderman Witte's two Agenda Items. Motion Carried via voce vote.

Motion Alderman Levell, second Alderman Block, that the Council approve Ordinance No. 12-07-09, an Ordinance Amending Section 6-55 Liquor Classification. (New Class "O"). Roll Call vote was:

Ayes:	Block, Boyer, Colwell, Gould, Hughes
Nays:	None
Abstain:	Colwell, Sharp

Chairman declared Ordinance No. 12-07-09 passed and signed the same.

Motion Alderman Levell, second Alderman Block, that the Council approve Ordinance No. 12-07-10, an Ordinance Amending Chapters 38, 74, and 202 (Nuisance). Roll Call vote was:

Ayes:	Block, Boyer, Colwell, Gould,
	Hughes, Levell, Sharp

Nays:

None

Chairman declared Ordinance No. 12-07-10 passed and signed the same.

Chairman Childers announced that, there being no further business, the Council Meeting adjourn at 7:24 P.M.

Sharon A. Crabel City Clerk